Cluster Types

When starting an Okera ODAS cluster, you can specify the type of the cluster as part of the ocadm clusters create command, which is commonly used as such:

ocadm clusters create --name=<Name> --numNodes=<Number of nodes> \
  --type=<Cluster type> --environmentid=<ID from environments create>

For example:

./ocadm clusters create --name=fintech_prod --numNodes=1 \
  --type=STANDALONE_CLUSTER --environmentid=1

Each cluster type starts a specific set of services, which differ between the various types. While the purpose of each service is less of a concern (since they are managed by the Okera Deployment Manager and the Kubernetes Master), it is useful to understand which service may be in trouble when there are operational problems. For example, the following shows the output of the ocadm clusters list command, with one cluster having an issue with health checking the third service of a standalone cluster:

[ec2-user@ip-10-1-10-201 okera]$ ./ocadm clusters list
description      id  name               numNodes  numRunningServices    owner    statusCode    statusMessage                                                                                                                    type
-------------  ----  ---------------  ----------  --------------------  -------  ------------  -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  ------------------
                  1  dev-env-0377              2  7/7                   admin    READY         All services running.                                                                                                            STANDALONE_CLUSTER
                  3  staging-env-4290          2  2/7                   admin    CONCERNING    Health check unsuccessful. Unable to reach Connection refused (Connection refused)  STANDALONE_CLUSTER

The following lists the services started for each available cluster type, starting with the most common type, the standalone cluster. It contains everything needed to run a fully functional ODAS cluster. The Accessible column states if a particular service is accessible from outside of the ODAS cluster (also referred to as exposed).

Standalone Cluster


No. Service Accessible
1 Canary Yes
2 ZooKeeper No
3 Catalog Yes
4 Planner Yes
5 Worker Yes
6 REST Server Yes
7 Web UI Yes

There are more specific cluster types, which are used less often though. These are needed when, for example, a single ODAS Catalog should be shared by multiple data access cluster instances.

Catalog-Only Cluster


No. Service Accessible
1 Canary Yes
2 ZooKeeper No
3 Catalog Yes
4 Planner No
5 REST Server Yes
6 Web UI Yes

Data-Access-Only Cluster


No. Service Accessible
1 Canary Yes
2 ZooKeeper No
3 Planner Yes
4 Worker Yes